FRIDAY

My first instinct when faced with something new or unknown is to pack myself off to the library; I, in turn, pack up as many books as I can find on said subject. Then I read.

This antisocial, aberrant behaviour has served me well in the past, and the new psychiatrist seemed to approve of the tactic, so here are some of the better titles I’ve come across:

  • Barondes, Samuel H., Mood Genes: Hunting for Origins of Mania and Depression
  • Fawcett, Jan; Golden, Bernard; and Rosenfeld, Nancy, New Hope for people with Bipolar Disorder, 2nd edition.
  • Mondimore, Francis Mark, Bipolar Disorder: A Guide for Patients and Families
  • Ratey, John J., A User’s Guide to the Brain: Perception, Attention, and the Four Theaters of the Brain

Never tell a manic he can’t read more than one book at a time.

Ain’t learnin’ fun?

~ by A Mundi on July 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
